TR: North Lake/South Lake via Lamarck Col

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
timachine
Topix Novice
Experience: N/A

TR: North Lake/South Lake via Lamarck Col

Post by timachine »

August 31st - September 4th

I have some experience backpacking and have done the JMT back in 2011 and other numerous other smaller trips. However, I have never done any cross country travel and was nervous to be taking my brother on his first backpacking trip while trying a cross country route. I knew this was going to be strenuous so I was hesitant to be exposing my brother to a trip this difficult but I knew he could handle it, even if begrudgingly at times.

August 31st - Trailhead to North Lake

We didn't reserve permits ahead of time so we showed up in Lone Pine to draw from the lottery to get our permits. Luckily, there were only a few parties on a Thursday morning so we didn't have any trouble getting the North Lake permit. While waiting I was looking through the hiking books, I found trail description and Lamarck Col photo beta that proved to be really helpful while I was navigating since I was still hazy in regards to the route from what I had read.