Haeckel Col for Beginners?

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
Matthewkphx
Topix Regular
Experience: Level 3 Backpacker

Haeckel Col for Beginners?

Post by Matthewkphx »

Hi,

I’m thinking about attempting Haeckel Col in late July. My hiking partner and I have little off-trail experience but we’ve got solid navigational skills and conservative judgement. We know Sabrina Basin and Evolution Valley and would like to connect the two. We will have the time to take it slow and plan to camp near Midnight Lake the night before so we can get up and over the Col early in the day.

I’m seeking opinions about whether this is a bad idea for a couple off-trail noobs like us.

I’ve carefully printed the directions and photos from the threads describing the approach and descent here. It doesn’t look particularly difficult.

We will be traveling light with total pack weights around 20 pounds each.
thegib
Topix Regular
Experience: Level 4 Explorer

Re: Haeckel Col for Beginners?

Post by thegib »

My experience leaving Sabrina basin over Haeckel Col was a little rough. Cold winds were raging and perhaps distracting but the talus/scree at the very top of the descent was unusually mobile. My partner got a little bloodied. On the plus side Fiske bowl at 11450' is a particularly excellent campspot. I'd say your low pack weight gives you an advantage dancing on the rocks. For me, the destination is worth it.
Matthewkphx
Topix Regular

Post by Matthewkphx »

Thanks for sharing your experience. I sometimes bring really thin full finger goatskin gloves as the ultimate in mosquito protection (I don’t like DEET OR Picaridin on my skin). It sounds like those might be a good item to bring as hand protection for that talus/scree.
Sierra00
Topix Novice

Post by Sierra00 »