New to the Sierra

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
SuKi
Topix Novice
Experience: Level 2 Backpacker

New to the Sierra

Post by SuKi »

Hi guys,

I'm fairly new to California and am looking for some destination advice for the upcoming summer. I know, it's a long way off, but I'm currently on a deployment, and well, I've got to occupy my time somehow, and planning a summer full of adventure seems like just the ticket.

I'm an avid day hiker, routinely 20+ miles, in all seasons and weather. I almost always hike with my dog, Lily, a 70 LB Plott hound who handles mountains better than me. She loves car camping, hiking, beaches, water, and outdoors. I'm fairly new to backpacking, just one four day trip in the Spanish Sierra Nevada up to MulHacen. That is also about the only experience I have at altitude, a modest 11,500 ft. I don't know that a plethora of weekend one night camping trips out of a backpack really counts as backpacking.

I can navigate fairly well, and enjoy off trail hiking. I will most likely only have one summer in the area, so I plan to make the most of it in terms of time spent in the mountains. I plan on at least a long weekend a month, two or three 5 or six day treks, and one three week trek (hopefully starting at Whitney Portal or possibly Independence, and traveling the boundary of Kings Canyon NP until meeting up with the JMT, and exiting at June Lake bypassing Yosemite. Not really a need to take 20 days, but I plan on lots of layovers and side treks to really enjoy my time at a leisurely pace).