Recommended gear for Dogs on the trail

Share your advice and personal experiences, post a gear review or ask any questions you may have pertaining to outdoor gear and equipment.
narc1370
Topix Acquainted
Experience: Level 3 Backpacker

Recommended gear for Dogs on the trail

Post by narc1370 »

What are you guys using for your K9's?

I have a 2 year old, 100 lb German Shepherd. I have a bunch of trips planned this summer, and a couple of those trips may incorporate my dog tagging along. He has a backpack and a pad, but I'm more curious about warmth at night, booties, and good dehydrated food? Any and all recommendations and/or experience is appreciated!
Harlen
Topix Addict
Experience: Level 4 Explorer

Re: Recommended gear for Dogs on the trail

Post by Harlen »

Hey narc1370,
Great question. I've been backpacking in all seasons with dogs for more than 3 decades, and so far so good. Well, I should say that the only injuries were minor. They lead to an important part of your question, so I'll begin there. Twice my dog Bearzy has broken, or had damage to his front foot dew claws. Just last trip this happened:

100_1078.JPG
See the break of dew claw in upper frame. For this injury I used a very sticky type of band aid first, then some of that soft, stretchy pink tape to provide cushion, and wrapped over that with tough white medical tape. It stayed on fine. This happened a couple summers ago, and here's what the fix looked like:

100_2554.jpg
100_2571.jpg
So, it's good to plan a med. kit for the dog too, and Russ, LincolnB, WD and others can add detail to this. These wraps are probably the main req., and I'd add that you should bring enough to rewrap daily, or sometimes more if they are worn/torn off in icy snow crust, or scree. LincolnB gave me a very helpful link to a dog bootie option I like very much, and intend to use. Here: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07J5 ... UTF8&psc=1