When selecting a thread response, have it open in a new tab | High Sierra Topix  

When selecting a thread response, have it open in a new tab

Instead of emailing or messaging the Admins or Mods with technical support questions or comments about the site, we prefer you check here to see if someone else has had the same difficulty or has made the same suggestion. What you're after might have already been posted and addressed here or within the FAQ. If not, please post a detailed description of the problem/suggestion and someone from the HST team will address your needs shortly. If you can't login/post and are unable to reset your password on your own, you may contact us directly.

When selecting a thread response, have it open in a new tab

Postby rlown » Sat Apr 23, 2016 4:18 pm

"When selecting a thread response, have it open in a new tab"

I believe it's been asked before, but it's very helpful. I can manage the tabs better than using the back button. Other sites like igHome do this religiously.



User avatar
rlown
Topix Docent
 
Posts: 6727
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 5:00 pm
Location: Petaluma, CA
Experience: Level 4 Explorer

Re: When selecting a thread response, have it open in a new

Postby gary c. » Sat Apr 23, 2016 11:53 pm

I second that request.
"On this proud and beautiful mountain we have lived hours of fraternal, warm and exalting nobility. Here for a few days we have ceased to be slaves and have really been men. It is hard to return to servitude."
-- Lionel Terray
User avatar
gary c.
Topix Fanatic
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 4:56 pm
Location: Lancaster, CA
Experience: N/A

Re: When selecting a thread response, have it open in a new

Postby SirBC » Sun Apr 24, 2016 10:19 am

If you middle click the scroll wheel it will open any link in a new tab. I do that on most forums.
-------------
Dave | flickr
User avatar
SirBC
Topix Acquainted
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2014 6:30 pm
Location: SF Peninsula
Experience: Level 3 Backpacker

Re: When selecting a thread response, have it open in a new

Postby ERIC » Sun Apr 24, 2016 11:38 am

What other comparable forums offer that kind of feature (I don't consider igHome to be comp.)? If there's an example I can look into it but I've found nothing online so far for the forum software we use.

Not exactly what you wanted, but I've enabled Quick Reply at the bottom of each thread.
New members, please consider giving us an intro!
Follow us on Twitter @HighSierraTopix. Use hashtags #SIERRAPHILE #GotSierra? #GotMountains?
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/HighSierraTopix
User avatar
ERIC
Your Humble Host & Forums Administrator
Your Humble Host & Forums Administrator
 
Posts: 3122
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2005 9:13 am
Location: between the 916 and 661
Experience: Level 4 Explorer

Re: When selecting a thread response, have it open in a new

Postby rlown » Sun Apr 24, 2016 3:38 pm

played with the quick reply. couldn't find another phpbb forum that implemented the "open in new tab" without mod. I know at work our systems almost always open new tabs so you can keep context by just deleting anything new that popped up that are no longer needed.

No pressure to change what is here now; was more of a question. I can live with a right click, open in a new tab for copy paste from multiple items.
User avatar
rlown
Topix Docent
 
Posts: 6727
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 5:00 pm
Location: Petaluma, CA
Experience: Level 4 Explorer


Return to Website Technical Problems, Questions, Comments & Suggestions



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest