First Time in the Sierras

Backpacking and camping basics and other general trip planning discussion for the uninitiated. Use this forum to learn where to look for the information you need, and to ask questions, related to the beginner basics of backpacking and camping, including technique and best practices.
llegoz
Topix Newbie
Experience: N/A

First Time in the Sierras

Post by llegoz »

Greetings! Early in June I will have some time off from school and work and I'm looking for a 2-3 day trip somewhere in the Sierras. I've never been and would love to go. I have plenty of experience car camping in southern California and some experience backpacking. I've taken a few backpacking trips to Joshua Tree, did a partial trip in Catalina, and that's about it. I would like to do about 10-12 miles a day, but doing more isn't a big deal. I am some what concerned about the altitude but I do plan to spend at least one day acclimating myself to the altitude. Also, I'm concerned that there will still be snow up in the passes early in June, and I have no snow experience at all. I've been looking at Kearsarge Pass, Little Lakes Valley, Mono Pass and Bishop Pass Trail. I can't seem to make up my mind. What should my first trip in the Sierras be? Any help/advice would be great! Thanks.
sparky
Topix Fanatic
Experience: Level 4 Explorer

Re: First Time in the Sierras

Post by sparky »

There is a form you should fill out so we can give you options that are best suited for you. It will tell us what kind of scenery you prefer, milage ect....fill that out and you will get some good advice.

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=4205
rlown
Topix Docent
Experience: Level 4 Explorer

Post by rlown »

other than answering the form questions, please refer to it as the Sierra. As it is your first time at altitude, cut your mileage expectations in half, just to help with planning. If you do more mileage, great.
Timberline
Topix Regular

Post by Timberline »