Mammoth Lakes Basin and Avalanches?

Discussion about winter adventure sports in the Sierra Nevada mountains including but not limited to; winter backpacking and camping, mountaineering, downhill and cross-country skiing, snowboarding, snowshoeing, etc.
Eigenguy
Topix Acquainted
Experience: N/A

Mammoth Lakes Basin and Avalanches?

Post by Eigenguy »

I've been snowshoeing Minaret Summit and up to Horseshoe Lake, but that has gotten old. I'd like to spend more time going places I went in the summer such as TJ Lake, Crystal Lake, Emerald Lake, (part of) Reds Meadow Valley etc.

I am very familiar with the Mammoth Lakes Basin... in the summer. I am new to snow and the mechanics of its movement and stability, so I know I need to be cautious but most of the answers I've gotten have been shrugs and opinions that it's not a big deal. I've looked into some of the resources that are posted, and though it is useful to be able to identify a hazard as I come to it, I'd like to learn how to "plan" routes that avoid these hazards if that's even possible.

Are avalanches something that I should be concerned about snowshoeing in the lakes basin backcountry, or on the Red's Meadow Road (between county line and Agnew Meadows), or Mammoth Pass? I am not planning on going to "big" mountains like the Crest, Duck Pass or the bowls behind the lakes.

EDIT: Also, should I be carrying avalanche gear in these areas?
maverick
Forums Moderator
Forums Moderator
Experience: Level 4 Explorer

Re: Mammoth Lakes Basin and Avalanches?

Post by maverick »

Have you read this thread: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=3640
Especially: http://esavalanche.org/advisory
Professional Sierra Landscape Photographer

I don't give out specific route information, my belief is that it takes away from the whole adventure spirit of a trip, if you need every inch planned out, you'll have to get that from someone else.