ski touring in June

Discussion about winter adventure sports in the Sierra Nevada mountains including but not limited to; winter backpacking and camping, mountaineering, downhill and cross-country skiing, snowboarding, snowshoeing, etc.
pawelrc
Topix Newbie
Experience: N/A

ski touring in June

Post by pawelrc »

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this forum and actually new to the USA, so first just saying hi. I'm studying here in the USA. My wife and I are ski tour enthusiasts (learned in the Alps). Could someone please tell us if it is still possible to do ski tours in first half of June? We have vacation June 5-12 and would love to ski tour in High Sierra. Any tips regarding if touring is still possible so late in season and possible locations for tours (snow in June, not a full day of walking to get to the snow) would be appreciated. We'd like to do a 3-4 day tour.

(btw, I purchase some guide books but it seems there is conflicting information about whether June still offers possibilities for nice tours)

Thanks!
Pawel
oldranger
Topix Addict

Re: ski touring in June

Post by oldranger »

Pawelrc

Welcome aboard!