Advice -- secret camp spot in Sequoia/Sierra ntl forests?

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
Abrahm
Topix Newbie
Experience: N/A

Post by Abrahm »

I'm sure this everyone's favorite post, but I need some advice. I'm new to the southern Sierra and need a recommendation for (read -- someone willing to spill the beans on their favorite secret spot) a car camping accessible, dispersed camping area, for Memorial Day weekend. Obviously, its a busy time of year, so we're open to a wide geographic area to find the right spot. Had been thinking Sequoia National Monument area to be near the park entrances. Alternatively Courtright Reservoir area, or further north around Kaiser pass/Florence Lake. Down south -- around upper Kern river valley above Lake Isabella is a thought as well.... so basically we're all over the place.

Goal is dramatic scenery, preferably near river/lake with good hiking. High elev would be nice. No RVs and the less people the better.

What say you all?
Strider
Topix Regular

Re: Advice -- secret camp spot in Sequoia/Sierra ntl forests?

Post by Strider »

Take one of the Sierra National Forest service roads, for example by Whiskey Falls, and you will find lots of turn-outs with fire rings and level tent areas. Just bring your own water, table & chairs, etc.
'Hike long and perspire'
Beantown
Topix Acquainted

Post by Beantown »

Mountain home state demonstration in sequoia national forest. Balch park, shake camp, Moses gulch, hidden falls camp. Take your pick was at hidden falls last memorial weekend and went backpacking. Hidden falls was empty
AlmostThere
Topix Addict
Experience: Level 4 Explorer

Post by AlmostThere »

Courtright will be packed, and odds are good mosquito-y.

I'm going to the coast. :)