Using Summer Early Daylight

How do you prepare for the rigorous physical requirements of high elevation adventure? Strength and endurance are key, but are only part of a more complex equation. How do you prepare for changes in altitude, exposure, diet, etc.? How do you mentally prepare? Learn from others and share what you know about training in advance for outdoor adventures.
JWreno
Topix Regular
Experience: Level 3 Backpacker

Using Summer Early Daylight

Post by JWreno »

I have been increasing my walking workouts each day for the last 3 months, cutting out garbage treats and have added intermittent fasting this month. I am working on getting back packing fit by Labor Day weekend when I will do a 11 day southern Sierra trip. I am down 19 pounds so far and would like to continue to loose about 1.5 pounds per week to weigh much less on the backpacking trip. My goal is to loose a 10 day loaded backpack worth of body fat before the trip.

We have been blessed in Reno with lower the usual temperatures for the last 2 months with a lot of extra rain from thunderstorms. That seems to be coming to an end and it is getting close to being too hot for walking later in the day.

I am on phase-in retirement with working at 60% FTE for 12 more months. I work Wednesday - Friday each week. My wife and I have Saturday - Tuesday off each week and we walk a lot and also hike on our days off.

The last two mornings I decided to add walking to my early morning workday routine. I walked 8.25 miles starting at 5:15 this morning and the temperature was lovely in the lower 50s at the start and still comfortable a couple hours later at the finish. Yesterday morning I walked 5 miles before work. I also walk about 3 miles at my lunch break but will probably not do that when the days reach mid 90s or higher. I will go to fitness gym instead to be inside at lunch break.