Ever felt burnt out on the backcountry?

Grab your bear can or camp chair, kick your feet up and chew the fat about anything Sierra Nevada related that doesn't quite fit in any of the other forums. Within reason, (and the HST rules and guidelines) this is also an anything goes forum. Tell stories, discuss wilderness issues, music, or whatever else the High Sierra stirs up in your mind.
shtinkypuppie
Topix Acquainted
Experience: Level 3 Backpacker

Ever felt burnt out on the backcountry?

Post by shtinkypuppie »

I've been backpacking nearly full-time for the last 15 years. In a lot of ways, I built my life around the backcountry - I moved to higher elevation, got a job that gave me lots of time off, etc. I used to say that my life had two seasons: backpacking season and preparing for backpacking season.

These last few years, however, it's not been reaching me in the way it used to. Coming up to the crest of a pass or around a bend to some sweeping view used to be a near-religious experience for me, but lately it just feels sort of dull. Hiking seems like a chore; visiting the places I would have marveled at in the past now feels like I'm just checking off landmarks on a forced march.

Has anyone else ever felt this way? If so, were you able to rekindle your love of the backcountry? I hate the idea of giving it up, but I also hate the idea of trudging through a hobby I don't actually enjoy anymore.

Thanks in advance
"It is a wholesome and necessary thing for us to turn again to the Earth, and in contemplation of her beauties to know wonder and humility"

- Rachel Carson
rayfound
Topix Expert

Re: Ever felt burnt out on the backcountry?

Post by rayfound »

Not with the wilderness, no. Frankly, I am not sure I've had the opportunity to do it enough to not merely lament the weekends I never got a chance.

But With other hobbies, absolutely yes.