Gap Between Royce and Feather

Questions and reports related to Sierra Nevada current and forecast conditions, as well as general precautions and safety information. Trail conditions, fire/smoke reports, mosquito reports, weather and snow conditions, stream crossing information, and more.
ctflower
Topix Newbie
Experience: Level 3 Backpacker

Gap Between Royce and Feather

Post by ctflower »

Curious if anyone has info (current or general) regarding the gap between Royce and Feather Peaks. I've seen a handful of photos from afar, but not with enough detail to assess the complexity.
Untitled.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
druid
Topix Regular
Experience: N/A

Re: Gap Between Royce and Feather

Post by druid »

I have no first-hand knowledge of this pass, but since nobody else has posted a reply, I'll take a stab. How are you with 45+ degree slopes and steeply angled snow? You can see the average slope angle at the top of the pass using the 'slope angle shading' feature of the Caltopo map you posted. The sentinel hub satellite view of the snow cover requires a paid Caltopo subscription, but the latest report from Sept 13 shows snow on both sides of the pass, particularly on the north side, where there is snow most of the way down to the Royce Lake below, which only in the last week has finally (mostly) thawed.

The satellite photo doesn't show this, but I would not be surprised if there were still a cornice on the north side of the pass that you would need to be prepared to "gundersen" your way over. All in all this is not something I would personally be interested in attempting this year, but then again I'm not as intrepid as some of the other members of this forum.
oddtiger
Topix Regular
Experience: Level 4 Explorer

Post by oddtiger »

It's filled with snow on the north side in early season. You can climb up with axe and crampons. You should be able to find more info when you search FEATHER/ROYCE SADDLE