Trip Advice - Rae Lakes Loop via Sixty Lakes and Rae Col

If you've been searching for the best source of information and stimulating discussion related to Spring/Summer/Fall backpacking, hiking and camping in the Sierra Nevada...look no further!
lmartire
Topix Newbie
Experience: Level 2 Backpacker

Trip Advice - Rae Lakes Loop via Sixty Lakes and Rae Col

Post by lmartire »

Hey all,

This is my first time posting after a while lurking.

I am trying to plan out a 5-day 4-night (or perhaps 6-day 5-night) 87-km backpacking trip roughly following the Rae Lakes Loop (see my CalTopo route) around August.

The first day would be 10km because we would have to drive from far away; then 20km/day the next 3 days; then 16km the last day. Shorter days may be possible if we can spare another day or two.

The logic behind Sixty Lakes Col is to get a view of the Gardiner Basin; the route avoids continuing down the Gardiner Basin Trail to Charlotte Lake because of length and because of many people reporting annoying shrub that way.

The general route is based on ideas/feedback in this thread and this thread, and some other blogs outside of HST. The only cross-country part is the cut via Rae Col, which is based on this thread.

An important question I have is whether or not we should be expecting ice cover at that time of year (August). As described in this thread, grampy had to turn away from Rae Col because of ice. However, this thread shows pictures without snow (albeit from 2017). The answer to that question might condition whether or not we try to go that way.

Some branches of the route could be cut off to save some distance if we need to - Baxter Lake, Sixty Lakes Col, or at worst the entire Sixty Lakes area.

I know that, at the time of posting, Kanawyers is inaccessible. I am working on an alternate version of this trip coming from Onion Valley, and hoping the road to Kanawyers re-opens.